Train Guy Part 2 – A Coffee Date

I really wasn’t looking forward to my date with Train Guy. In my mind he already had three strikes against him:

1 – The sexual innuendos in his texts. In my last post I said that he had made two “sexual” comments, but there were actually FOUR. My friend reminded me of one after she read my last post, and then, when I went to reread the texts, I found ANOTHER one that I had forgotten about! Here they are:

#3 – When I told him that I’m a proofreader, he said, “Shit, so now I have to watch my grammar and spelling.” I said, “Lol don’t worry, I won’t judge you too harshly if you mess up.” His reply?

“You can scold me. I may like it. ;-)”

That was literally two hours after I met him. Too soon!

#4 – When I told him I take salsa lessons, he said:

“Oh wow. I definitely can’t dance to that. It’s a sexy dance though. Maybe you can grind up behind me and break me down with your salsa skills.”

What does that even mean?? Ugh.

2 – The level of corniness in his texts. Aside from the innuendos, his texts were also very corny. One example is when I told him I had dance class, and he said, “What sort of music do you shake your booty to?” Really? I mean, who talks like that??

I can’t even tell you how many times I rolled my eyes after reading one of his responses.

3 – He got drunk on the night we were supposed to meet up. Nothing more needs to be said on this one.

So yeah, I wasn’t that keen on meeting up with Train Guy. At that point I’d already had three good dates with PicStitcher, and my inclination was to forget about Train Guy and just focus on PicStitcher. But that line of thinking is exactly why I HAD to go out Train Guy – it was way too soon for me to be considering throwing all my eggs into one basket, and yet there I was, doing just that.

I met up with Train Guy at a coffee shop near my house. He was waiting for me outside when I got there. After we said hello, he told me that it was really crowded inside and that there were no tables. He seemed really annoyed by that fact. I said, “Well do you want to go somewhere else?” He was like, “I don’t know, what do you want to do?” I said, “We can go somewhere else.”

We started walked down the block. I said, “So where are we going?” He said, “I don’t know, I don’t really know any other coffee shops around here. Where do YOU want to go?”

As I’m writing down this story, that little exchange seems like no big deal. But I was SO annoyed by it at the time! For one thing, I really don’t like when a guy makes me pick the place. I prefer a guy who is decisive and takes charge, you know? And it was super cold outside, so I was freezing my butt off as this conversation was taking place.

And then there’s the issue of his voice…it was SOOOO annoying! It took me almost a week to pinpoint who he sounds like, but I finally figured it out – he sounds like Louie, one of the mafia guys in The Simpsons. (Click to watch a clip of Louie.) So as I was standing outside, freezing and annoyed that he didn’t know where to take me, I was also thinking to myself, “Oh my god, is he actually talking like this?”

I must have had a nasty look on my face, because he said to me, “Are you okay? You seem like you’re in a bad mood.” I forced myself to smile and said, “No I’m fine, I’m just really cold! Let’s just go wait inside the coffee shop.” And that’s what we did. And we only ended up waiting like 2 minutes for a table.

The only thing noteworthy about the date itself was the amazing cup of mint hot chocolate that I had – it was so delicious! The date was fine, I guess. We asked and answered all the basic first date questions. Oh, he did say that the reason he had suggested meeting at the coffee shop was because, based on the way I had reacted to him “having a few” the night we were supposed to meet, he wasn’t sure if I drank. When I told him that I’m not opposed to drinking, he said “Okay, so next time we’ll meet at a bar.”

The date ended about an hour after it started. I had known it would be a short date, since he had to wake up really early for the early shift at work the next morning (he’s a cop). He paid for our drinks and the piece of chocolate cake we had shared, and then walked me to my car.

My overall impression of Train Guy was that he was cute, but not my type. He was a little too hood for me. Even though on paper he seemed like a good match (he’s cute, he lives really close to me, and he’s 36 years old), I just didn’t feel any type of spark or connection. So why should I waste my time going out with him when I could go out with Pic-Stitcher instead?

That WAS my thought process…until I found out that Pic-Stitcher had been lying to me about his age and was only 25. Then I decided that I should give Train Guy one more shot.

To be continued…

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Dating, Entertainment/Nightlife, Life, Love, Nightlife, Personal, Relationships, Sex, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Train Guy Part 2 – A Coffee Date

  1. Jeni Johnson says:

    Obviously I don’t know you and forgive me for being independently blunt…but you come across as a fun loving, down to earth, intelligent, beautiful Woman who has/able to plan a whole year with other activities rather than date this cop Guy. Intuitively, you can teach this a Guy lesson or two, which he clearly needs or, just befriend him and continue writing these awesome posts about your dating adventures.

Leave a Reply

