The Return of the Bouncer Part Three – Getting Closure

(Part One | Part Two)

Between everything that happened with the Bouncer and some other stuff that happened that weekend which I haven’t written about yet, I was emotionally drained by the time Monday rolled around. So when some friends suggested getting drinks after work, I was like, “Yes please!”

We went to a bar pretty close to the office. We got there at 6:30 and ended up staying until 11. By that point it was me and six other people. We were all fairly drunk, and we probably should have called it a night. Instead, we started talking about where we should go next. Someone suggested going to a certain bar, and when I asked where it was I found out that it was practically next door to my former favorite bar in NYC, where the Bouncer works. “Yes,” I said, “let’s go there.”

I don’t know what I was expecting would happen. But all of the sudden I felt the need to confront the Bouncer, immediately, while things were still fresh.

Since there were so many of us, we had to take two cabs to get there. By the time my cab got there, the group in the first cab had already checked out our destination and decided that it sucked. We were all standing in front of my former favorite bar, deciding what to do. I looked to my left and saw the Bouncer standing in the doorway talking to someone. He saw me a second later.

I broke away from my group and went straight up to him. Right away he said “Excuse me” to the guy he was talking to. Then he turned to me and said, “I’m so sorry about that.”

Me: I wasn’t planning on coming here tonight.  But all of my friends were like, “Let’s go to XXX,” and I didn’t really have a reason to tell them no. I mean, it’s not like I could say, “Oh sorry, I can’t go there, I fucked the bouncer there and last night his crazy fucking wife called me to tell me he’s married.”

Him: First of all, we’re not married. I don’t know why she said that, because we are not married. I went to the bathroom and I came out and she was going through my phone.

Me: That’s not really the point, is it? And she sure seemed like your wife, with you in the fucking background going, “Gina, I told you nothing happened.” (When I imitated his voice I made him sound like a whiny little bitch, which is how he had sounded.)

Him: I know, you’re right. Look, I’m really, really sorry. I know nobody wants to deal with that.

I don’t remember what I said. I just remembering rolling my eyes and turning away from him to go back to my group.

When I stepped back outside (which was maybe 5 feet from where I had been talking with the Bouncer), everyone was looking at me like “What. The. Fuck.” This one girl, who I had just met that night, said, “Are they not letting people in?” I said, “Yeah they are. We can go in.”

My friends were staring at me with these bewildered looks on their faces, so I said, “Oh, I know him,” as a way to explain why I had been talking to the Bouncer. One friend said, “Yeah, but you were yelling. Is everything okay?” I said, “I was yelling? No way… Yeah, everything is fine.” Another friend said, “So is it okay if we go in here, or do you want to go somewhere else?” I said, “No, this is fine.” I plastered a big smile on my face so they would know I was okay.

As we were walking in one of my friends asked me, “So what was that about?” I said, “Nothing, it’s no big deal.” Another friend chimed in: “Yeah, that was weird. I heard you say ‘and I heard her in the background…'”. I said, “It’s complicated, but it’s fine. It’s done.”

That was pretty much it. At one point I went out to have a cigarette, and when I passed the Bouncer he was looking at me and I just laughed and said “Awk-ward…”, and he laughed in response. And when I hopped in a cab at the end of the night, he smiled this weird smile like “I don’t know if I should be smiling at you or what” and gave me a little wave goodbye. I gave him a head nod in return.

And THAT is truly the end of the Bouncer, at least as far as he relates to my love life. I had been looking for closure with him, and I certainly got it.

To be concluded…

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Adultery, Blog, Cheating, Dating, Life, Love, New York City, Nightlife, Personal, Relationships, Sex, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Return of the Bouncer Part Three – Getting Closure

  1. Laurel says:

    I just found your blog. LOVE it. And the up side is that you haven’t been “whacked” by Gina.

Leave a Reply

