Meet the Parents

Whoops! I started this post last Wednesday and forgot to finish and post it. I don’t know why; it’s not like I’ve got so much going on on a daily basis.

Anyway, the closing was pretty uneventful. I mean, it was a huge relief to get it over with and it’s a huge milestone as far as being something I need to do before I can get divorced, but I didn’t have a conversation with my ex about how much money I want and all that. I didn’t really see the point. There are still a few more things that need to happen between now and when we can file for divorce, so why potentially sour things between us before I have to?

I’m really looking forward to this weekend. On Friday after work I’m flying down to see Dave. 🙂 I’m coming back on Tuesday morning and heading straight to work. It’s a short trip, but I’m not mad about it, because 17 days later he’ll be coming up to NY and staying for a week. Then he’ll be back in NY a week after I get back from Australia, for Thanksgiving. And then I’ll be heading down there on Dec. 31 and staying for a week.

So yeah, in regards to seeing Dave, the next few months are pretty well covered. Which is nice.

I am slightly nervous about this weekend though. Why? Cuz I’m meeting Dave’s parents. Eeeeeeeek!!! Lol okay, I’m not that nervous about it, but I am a little bit. They already know that I’m older than him, so at least that’s out of the way, but they don’t know that I was married and that I am still married. I asked him yesterday if he had told them and he said no, it hadn’t come up. I don’t think it matters, and Dave doesn’t either…but I could see how a parent might not think that a still-married older woman is the best choice for their son. Lol.

So yeah, hopefully it won’t come up. But if it does, I’ve got my answer ready: “I was married but it didn’t work out.” Nice and brief, and hopefully not inviting of any further questions.

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Dating, Life, Love, Personal, Relationships, Travel, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

