The baby momma

Another successful New Orleans trip in the books. There’s hardly anything to say about it, because other than meeting the parents, it was pretty uneventful. We went out to eat, stayed home and cooked, went out for drinks, stayed home and drank, etc. His parents were nice, and they seemed to like me. All in all it was a GREAT weekend, and coming home SUCKED.

Oh, one thing that happened while I was there that was “funny-not-funny” was that twice we bumped into people who know Dave’s baby momma (“Jennifer”). The first one was a waitress he used to work with, who said, “Oh wow, I haven’t seen you since before you guys had the baby!” The waitresses was very nice and friendly towards me, but of course the bitch in me wondered if she was being a bitch by throwing that bit of info out there. You know what I mean? When she said that I kept a wide smile on my face as I thought to myself, “Yeah bitch, I know he has a son, you ain’t tellin me nothin I don’t already know.” (Yes, I get ghetto when I get angry, lol.)

The second one was the cashier at this smoke shop we went into for cigarettes. As I was paying he said to Dave, “You look really familiar, I think I know you from somewhere.” Dave said, “Yeah you look familiar too.” They stared at each other for a while longer and then the guy said, “Oh, I know. Jennifer.” Once again I kept my smile plastered on my face as I rolled my eyes in my mind. Dave smiled and said “Oh yeah, right.” And that was it, we were done and left the store.

I guess I can expect this type of thing to keep happening. After all, he’s lived there all his life, so he’s bound to run into people who know his ex. And it didn’t bother me. It was just like, “Hmm, where else can we go today and run into people who know Jennifer?”

One of my friends thinks it’s weird that Dave hasn’t told Jennifer about me. She said “Well, if I had a son and some chick was sleeping over and spending time with him, I would want to meet her and make sure I approve.” I know what she’s saying, but I don’t agree. I mean, I haven’t told MY ex about Dave yet. That’s going to be an awkward conversation, and it’s one that I’m not eager to have. I know it’s not exactly the same thing, because my ex and I don’t have kids (THANK GOD), but still, having a conversation with your ex about the new person in your life is awkward as hell.

I think it would be different if I lived down there and was coming over all the time and spending massive amounts of time with his son. But as it is, I saw him for what, two days? And I won’t be seeing him again until January. So I can see why Dave wouldn’t feel the need to tell his ex about me – yet.

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Blog, Dating, Divorce, Life, Love, Personal, Relationships, Travel, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The baby momma

  1. Jamie says:

    I am so behind on all your posts even though I follow you on bloglovin. Now I’m caught up!

    So happy to read that you and Dave are still together! love, love, love it! It comes through in your posts that you are genuinely happy with him to be with him and where your relationship is headed. I’m happy as a reader to see you at this point after all your funny (and probably not so fun all the time) dating stories.

    I can’t wait to see more posts about your visits with Dave and where you end up in the next few months!! 🙂

  2. emarie24 says:

    Hmmm I think he should prooobably tell her. Does his kid live with him? I’m still so glad things are going well!!!

  3. Tony Bird says:

    I can see it from either point of view. I think transparency enhances trust, but sometimes it’s good not to come out with everything right away while things may still be fragile and you all are still trying to decide exactly how you feel about each other and how you want things to pan out. I’m kind of going through a similar circumstance with my ex, but I think she is more happy for me that I’m dating someone else than she is jealous.

Leave a Reply

