I’m going to Australia

My friends keep saying to me: “You need to stop only writing blog posts when you see Dave. It’s getting boring.” So I’ll take a break from talking about Dave and write about the other big thing going on in my life: Australia.

I’m leaving to Australia in less than three weeks. My friend Dee is over there on a work exchange. She’ll be done at the end of October, at which point I’ll be meeting up with her and we’ll be traveling around the country. Let me tell you, it is NOT easy to plan a 3-week vacation, especially when the person you’re planning it with is on the other side of the world. (#firstworldproblems)

I’m really trying to step up my involvement in planning this trip. I didn’t do a thing when it came to planning our Europe trip last year. I swear, I would have been stuck at the airport in Paris if it wasn’t for Dee, who had figured out all the trains and subways beforehand. So yeah, I need to make up for it!

And I am. There are soooo many things to figure out – where we want to go, what order, where we should be on the weekends, and when I’m supposed to get my period (haha). After tons of research on places and flights, we settled on the following itinerary:

Sunday Oct 27 – I fly to Melbourne

Tuesday Oct 29 – I land in Melbourne (24 hour flight!)

Tuesday Nov 5 – We fly to Cairns (which has the Great Barrier Reef and some other stuff)

Saturday Nov 9 – We fly to the Gold Coast.  It was important to me that we be there on a Friday or Saturday night, because apparently the Gold Coast is the Vegas of Australia.

Tuesday Nov 12 – We are RENTING a car and driving to Hervey Bay (which is near Fraser Island, a “must-see” according to many). I’m mildly nervous about this part, because they drive on the opposite side of the road over there and I’m going to have to do most of the driving! But I think it’ll be fun – an adventure. :-p

Thursday Nov 14 – We fly to Sydney. We’re getting there on a Thursday, which was important because I wanted to make sure we were there on a weekend.

Monday Nov 18 – We fly home.

(Tuesday Nov 19 – I go to work! Between seeing Dave and going to Australia I have maybe one vacation day left at work, so even though I wanted to wait until Wednesday to go back to work, I’m going back on Tuesday. Ugh.)

That itinerary took about two weeks to figure out. And that’s only the flights! We still have to book hotels and figure out what we’re going to do in each place. But it is exciting to see this trip coming together bit by bit.

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Australia, Blog, Life, Personal, Travel, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’m going to Australia

  1. emarie24 says:

    The car isn’t bad at all! We drove the Great Ocean Rd there. AWESOME!!!!! And I love love love Melbourne. Sydney wasn’t too great. I’m so excited for you! I loved Australia!!!

  2. girlseule says:

    I hope you have a wonderful time when you visit Australia, sounds like a great itinerary you have there.

  3. Viv says:

    your blog rocks. You will love Australia and I can’t wait to hear about it. One thing: I was there for their summer and froze my ass off at times – they are not kidding when they say places like Melbourne go through 3 to 4 different seasons in a day. I say start with a bikini and then add layers, layers, layers- dress like an onion!

Leave a Reply

