What a difference a year (and having a boyfriend) makes

Around this time last year, I was on vacation in Europe with my friend Di. On that 9-day trip, we went out every single night. In fact, we planned our trip around going out – we wanted to be in Paris on Friday night and Amsterdam on Saturday night so we could enjoy the weekend nightlife in each of those cities.

One of my goals for that trip was to make out with a different guy in each of the four cities we visited (classy, I know. Lol.). I only managed two – Amsterdam and Paris. Oh well, at least I gave a good effort. 🙂 But even on the days where we didn’t party hard, we still went out every night for dinner and a drink and tried to find something to do.

But that was then.

Now, I’m just about finished with my vacation in Australia. In fact, I’m on my way to Sydney airport now, and in 24 hours (ugh, not looking forward to the flight) I will be back home.

This vacation was soooo different than last year’s euro trip, it’s crazy. Out of my three weeks in Australia, we partied a total of…once. Once! And that was over two weeks ago! The rest of the trip, I swear we were in bed by like 11 pm every night. And on the nights when we forced ourselves to go out and have a drink, we were drinking…cider. (Pear cider is my new favorite thing, btw.)

One reason we didn’t go out is because we were plain old tired. We did a LOT of “adventure” shit on this trip – scuba diving, boat tours, walking through rain forests, etc. And on the days when we didn’t have any activities planned, we did a LOT of walking around (my feet literally have blisters). So by the end of the each day, we were usually exhausted.

But I have to say that the main reason – the REAL reason – we didn’t do any partying is that now, as opposed to last year, we both have boyfriends.

I never gone on a vacation by myself while I’ve been in a relationship. Most of my traveling has been done over the past few years since I split with my ex, and I’ve always gone in “single-gal” mode, looking to party, drink and – obviously – meet guys.

But now I have Dave, who I’ve been talking and Skyping with every day. I have a totally different mindset than I did last year, and it’s kinda weird for me! I have ZERO desire to go out to a bar or a club and stand around having a drink. It’s like, what’s the point? I’m just gonna stand there talking to Di anyway, so we might as well stay home.

Which is not the best attitude to have, I know. I don’t want to be “that girl” who suddenly becomes really lame when she gets a boyfriend. But I can’t help it if I don’t want go out, right?

Anyway, I’ll post some pics from my trip in a few days.

About notchangingmyname

I'm a thirty-something, about-to-be-divorced, former blogger trying to navigate single life.
This entry was posted in Australia, Blog, Dating, Divorce, Life, Love, Personal, Relationships, Travel, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What a difference a year (and having a boyfriend) makes

  1. SillyG says:

    scuba diving and hiking in rain forests is much cooler than partying!
    … and lmao, i had a goal in my 20s to kiss a man on every greek island i visited. fun 🙂

  2. mayday says:

    Partying is pretty much the same in every city. Sightseeing adventures are way better!

Leave a Reply

